Mango Phirni

I love summers because it brings mangoes. I’m just crazy about mangoes! I can keep eating them. I love Mumbai for the Alphonso mangoes, they are simply delicious. I call them the Mango Frooty mango because the taste of Alphonso mangoes are just like the Mango Frooty. I had Frooty before I tasted Alphonso mango so I find them tasting like Frooty. May be Frooty got it’s flavor from Alphonso since Parle Company is based in Mumbai 😁

Mangoes are itself like dessert for me that’s why I generally don’t make anything with mangoes. But this summer I decided to make few desserts with mangoes. You can check one of my recipe Bengali style Mango Chutney Cake

Today I am posting a recipe for a very delicious phirni made with mangoes. It is so delicious that I already made it twice this season. This one is a favorite at home and so easy to make. It takes less time and effort in making than rice kheer. 

Ingredients

  • Full fat milk 1/2 litre
  • Skim milk 1/2 litre
  • Basmati rice 1/3 cup
  • Mango pulp of two Alphonso mangoes
  • Sugar 1/3 cup
  • Cardamom powder 1 teaspoon
  • Blanched pistachios 1/4 cup

Method

  1. Wash and soak the basmati rice for two hours. Grind it coarsely with some water.
  2. Take the milk in thick bottom pan and bring it to boil.
  3. Add the ground rice and constantly stir to prevent forming lumps. 
  4. Cook it in low flame till the rice is done with occasional stirring to prevent from sticking to the bottom. 
  5. When the phirni reaches its desired thickeness add sugar and cardamom powder.
  6. Give it a stir, boil for another 2-3 minutes before turning off the flame.
  7. Once the phirni comes to room temperature add the mango pulp.
  8. Transfer to bowls and garnish with some mango pulp and pistachios.
  9. Store in the fridge for 4-5 hours before serving.

Notes

  • Amount of sugar added depends upon the sweetness of the mangoes so use sugar accordingly.
  • The phirni will thicken more on cooling, once the mango pulp is added it will thin out a bit.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Mmm….. Looks Sooo… Delicious

    Like

    1. priyanjali says:

      Thanks a lot Deepa

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

