Banana and almond flour coconut cookies

Today was the day to bake cookies for my little one. I always try to bake nutritious stuffs for him. So I was going through my shelf for various ingredients that I had. That’s when I found the banana flour which was lying in a corner.  I purchased it a couple of months ago and used it just once. Today when I saw it, I thought I’d use it along with almond flour and coconut for my little one’s snacks.

I have never tried a gluten free recipe. Very apprehensive to bake without whole wheat flour so I have always used little bit of it in all my bakes. This time I thought I should overcome my fear and try a gluten free bake. I’m so glad I did, the outcome is awesome with great texture.  My little one loved it. Flavored the cookies with cardamom, I don’t have to say how awesome it goes with coconut!


Ingredients

Method

  1. Grind the sugar with seeds of cardamom pods.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy.
  3. Add desiccated coconut, mix well.
  4. Add the flours, mix well with the butter and sugar. Add milk as required to form a soft dough.
  5. Refrigerate the dough for half an hour.
  6. Shape the cookies by flattening between your palm. Place them on a baking dish. Leave gap between the cookies as they tend to spread.
  7. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius for 12-15 minutes or until it starts to brown.
  8. They will be soft, do not over bake them. On cooling they will harden.
  9. Keep them on the tray for 10-15 minutes then shift to wire rack for complete cooling.
  10. Store in airtight container, stays good for a week.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Megala says:

    Thanks for sharing this healthy recipe!

    Like

  2. Partha Datta says:

    It looks to be great recipe for a healthy snacks .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aditi says:

    Hi good recipe..
    Please tell the replacement for milk and butter for a dairy free version..
    Thanks
    Aditi

    Like

    1. priyanjali says:

      Thank you Aditi, you can use nut butter and instead of milk you can soy, coconut or almond milk. You can use even water, because the fluid is needed just to bind the dough

      Like

  4. Vimala says:

    What is sorghum flour? Nd raw banana flour where will get?

    Like

    1. priyanjali says:

      Sorghum is jowar flour.. Click on raw banana flour in the ingredients, you’ll get the link to buy

      Like

Leave a Reply

